Homeschooling 101

How to Homeschool in Colorado

Colorado laws provide for three options of homeschooling your children.

1. File a Notice of Intent and follow the homeschool law.
2. Enroll with an Independent School and follow that school’s requirements.
3. Obtain a current Colorado teaching license.
(No reporting or testing requirements exist for a parent holding a current Colorado teaching license.)

Options 1 and 2 are detailed and linked below. Because each Independent School is established separately, the policies detailed below are specific the CHEC Independent School. Please note that there are slight differences between each option and each link directs you to a page specific to the option you are interested in.


 
Home-Based Education
(Homeschool Law)
Non-Public School Law
(CHEC Independent School)

Send a Notice of Intent

Enroll in the CHEC Independent School

Compulsory Attendance Ages

Compulsory Attendance Ages

Abide by requirements of the Homeschool Law

Abide by the policies of the Independent School

Attendance: 172 days/
averaging 4 hours each day

Attendance: 172 days

Testing Requirements and Options (2 options)

Testing Requirements and Options (3 options)

Curriculum Requirements

Curriculum Requirements

Assigning/Changing a
Grade Level

Assigning/Changing a
Grade Level

Sports Participation

Sports Participation